yachtpaint.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Repair & Maintenance > Antifouling
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - problem with interprotect 2000e
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

problem with interprotect 2000e

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
gregorymacc.com View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gregorymacc.com Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: problem with interprotect 2000e
    Posted: 24 May 2011 at 4:53am
Can some one give me some guidence on interprotect 2000e.  I have had a few issues with the application and overall product.  First issue i had was, I followed the instructions on mixing and letting it rest for approximatly 20 min.  before application.  According to the instructions 1 can will yeild approx. 240 square feet, how ever I have a 27' boat that when I applied the paint it only used about 1/2 to 2/3rds of a can and had some issues of roller  marks and runs on the strakes and chine.  The second issue came when I let the paint set up for almost an hour after mixing when I applied it is was thick and did not roll out very smoothly thus creating an orange peel effect.  On top of that although dry to the touch I was still able  after 24hrs to peel some of the paint off in these heavily painted roller marks and sags by digging a finger nail into the paint. The paint does not seem to be exceptionally the surface.  Will providing extra drying time help? and can I begin to apply my antifouling or should I apply another coat of interprtect to ensure a proper seal? Any help would greatly be appreciated.  thanks Greg
Back to Top
Jay@Interlux View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 1147
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jay@Interlux Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 2011 at 4:06pm
Hi Gregory,
We are sorry to hear about the troubles which you are experiencing. The theorectical coverage of a gallon of mixed InterProtect 2000E would be 240 sq ft when being applied with a 3/8" or 5/16" nap roller. On a 27' boat I would anticipate that you would need to apply roughly 1 gallon per coat as well. However if you were to use a thinner nap such as 1/4" or 3/16" or even a foam roller then you will be applyling less material per coat which would use less product overall. Do you happen to know what kind of roller you were using to apply the InterProtect 2000E? Common causes of roller marks or runs would be an over application of the material or just laying on an uneven coat. Could you tell me if you were applying the product heavily or more on the lighter side? Not sure if you are aware but the nature of InterProtect 2000E would be to finish off with a slight bit of texture. This texture is being caused by the microplates in the material. These microplates are the key successor to help and provide a moisture barrier, however since they lay one on top of another the surface can very well appear to be a bit textured. If you are seeing a slight orange peel effect, that would actually be anticipated. The typical pot life of InterProtect 2000E is 5 hours, however if the pot were left in direct sunlight or there was a small volume in the container itself, you could very well experience some thickening of the material as well. Therefore it is best to keep the mixed bucket out of direct sunlight if possible. The bare minimum time which you can apply your antifouling paint would be when the InterProtect is thumb print tacky, where you can press into the surface, but has no material transfer onto your hand. Based off your description it sounded as if the bottom were somewhat mixed between harder paint film in some areas and softer in others. Therefore in order to be preventative I would recommend that you do apply another fresh coat of the InterProtect 2000E and when it is thumb print tacky, you will be ready to go ahead and apply the antifouling paint. Hope this helps and if there is anything else which you may need, feel free to ask.  
Back to Top
gregorymacc.com View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 May 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gregorymacc.com Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 2011 at 7:30pm
Jay,
thanks for the reply you were correct unknown to me I uesd 1/4 nap roller.  So that was the one issue I will apply another coat as directed the only other issue I had was the cure due to the humidity and low temps I would assume that it will affect the drying time so thats probably why it has not fully cured in those areas that had heavy build up. Will this be an issue to over coat or not? thanks again. greg
Back to Top
Jay@Interlux View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 1147
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jay@Interlux Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2011 at 8:41am
Hi Greg,
As long as you can touch those problem areas and see/experience no material transfer onto your hand, then they should not be a challenge for you going foward. However if you were to experience some mateiral transfer, the yes it would pose a problem and that this point I would recommend that you remove those problem areas and start fresh. Hope this helps some more.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.234 seconds.